First boring post and a story

This is the first post. The internet is full of the dead first posts of blogs which were never finished.

I have everything I need to submit an application to study at the University of Edinburgh next year. By the end of this week, I will have completed it. I am notoriously terrible at filling out forms and sending them and not procrastinating anything requiring me to fill out text fields, upload documents, or god forbid…mail something. 

But I do have a UK passport application ready to be mailed tomorrow. This is important, it means I dodge the visa requirement, activate my dual citizenship powers, and that I am good for the next ten years, rather than one school year. I will likely still need to go for an interview in Ottawa, in which they will consider me for the job of being myself, but with a British passport in addition to my Canadian one.

This post is boring, so I will relate a story. Somebody recently asserted that I am a shy person who does not lead revolts. Actually, a small few people think this. There are two high school teachers who would vehemently disagree with that – once, a particular English teacher thought that “Mrs” came from “Missus”, and couldn’t figure out why on earth that “r” was in there. Since this was meant to be an etymology lesson, I felt the need to step in, and I did. After that, whenever I had an individual or group presentation in front of the class, she tried to embarrass me (she only ever did this to me) by asking me “hard” vocabulary and language history questions. They were generally irrelevant to the topic at hand, but I answered them every time. Apparently I made my point, because she embarrassed herself more and more, and the class would listen to me, but talk over her (I became legend, she was known to be unpleasant). I did not get a good mark in that class, for some strange reason…

The second was a band teacher who thought that a triple sharp/flat was a thing, and couldn’t figure out how to conduct in compound time. He then gave the class very low marks. There was a peaceful albeit acerbically-written (rather well-done, I have to say even now) mutiny signed by the entire class minus an irritating kid from Manitoba, and the result that time was that I taught the class whenever he was away, was the last word on music theory and history, and got a very high mark in that class.

There was almost a later incident with a strings teacher. I left the class for ten minutes right before the first time he helped them set up their instruments, and when I returned, the violinists couldn’t hold their violins up (no shoulder rests), the poor cellists had their cello bodies on the ground (end-pins were unknown), bows were held in fists, and nobody could make a sound because the bows hadn’t a grain of rosin. That last bit was merciful because he didn’t know how to tune them. Then, he almost ruined someone’s string by putting it in backwards “helped” someone change a string, and I fixed the damage, then dropped the class immediately after. He still teaches music, incidentally.

This will be a real blog once I make a second post.

Leave a Reply

